Reviews on NEGATIVE ZERO
Soldier of Light Chronicles Book One

1.     "Negative Zero" is an excellent novel that captured my attention from the beginning, pulled me in, and never once let go. Evika is a great female lead, and the chemistry with her and Hayden was hot! I would love to read more from this author in the future as the series continues. [Gill] has a natural gift for creating a thought out story and developing fun, complex characters with a great plot. Recommend for ages 16 and up (even adults!) (5 stars) Gillian Hancock - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

 

2. Excellently written. This is a clever spin in the whole "guardian angel" theme that is so popular these days. I was impressed by the author's new take on a popular subgenre. (4-5 stars) Darlene Cupp - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

 

3. There is such strong, vivid writing, and the characters are all fascinating, flawed, and going through their own drama. Great character development. (4 stars) Nicola Flood  - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

 

4. The top-notch writing and plot structure, and an exciting, varied cast of colorful characters with plenty of supernatural and thrills to go around. Gill did a great job of bringing in a unique voice and making the story wholly her own, and giving it a fresh feel. I didn't feel like I've read this a million times before. (4-5 stars) Essie Harmon - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

 

5. This books seems to have something of everthing...seriously. Paranormal elements, action, drama, friendship, struggles, mystery, life and death, romance...but I thought tied it all together nicely in just such compelling, emotionally engaging way. I was impressed by the seamless narrative transitions... (4 stars) Sherri Warner - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

 

6 Wow, "Negative Zero" by Ireland Gill was awesome! I finished it a few days ago and am still digesting it. I haven't read anything like that in a long time, if ever. (5 stars) Steph Coleman - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

 

7. Well-written and very creative, "Negative Zero" is an absolute must-read for fans of novels such as "Hush, Hush," and even "Twilight," but "Negative Zero" actually has a STRONG and flawed female MC. (No cut-out Mary Janes here! Love Evika!) (4-5 stars) Essie Harmon - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

 

8. Gill takes her time in carefully developing the various storylines so that we the readers are thoroughly invested the whole way through. (4-5 stars) Darlene Cupp - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

Reviews on ABSOLUTE ZERO

Soldier of Light Chronicles Book Two

1.     "Absolute Zero is the second book I’ve read now from Ireland Gill and I think it’s safe to say that I’m officially a fan! I do read a lot of books by lesser known authors (I like to give them a chance and maybe discover new talent), but inevitably I’m left disappointed more often than not. But even if Ms. Gill’s novel isn’t perfect, it definitely delivered an entertaining ride with great characters (love Hayden and Evika) that pulls you in and makes you emotionally invested whether you want to be or not. I enjoyed the author’s energetic and passionate writing, but also how she really nails the whole “young adult” voice , and the characters (even the ‘non-human’ ones) This book is a continuation of the first one and it is recommended that you read “Negative Zero” first to understand the setup and backstory and Evika’s unique situation. I liked that it was unpredictable and not completely cliché, and I was shocked by the twist at the end. Ends on a cliffhanger so I hope the next one is available soon! (4-5 stars) - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

2.    I’d read (and loved) the author’s first book in the series, “Negative Zero” so I already had the bar set pretty high in my mind for this one. I am so happy that I wasn’t at all disappointed with “Absolute Zero”! I think I even liked this one a bit more than the first, as we now know the characters and Evika’s story continues to develop with her crazy new life, and puts her in new danger. Fortunately she has a hunky Guardian angel in Hayden, but that doesn’t stop what’s happening to her…  Great supporting cast as well and I seriously love the dialogue between some of the characters, but the narrative was just as genuine and lovely as well! I lost track of time while reading this and loved how I was able to totally lose myself in Evika’s dangerous and dramatic world that is so much fun and creative! Rare in this genre, and yes while there are some familiar elements, I really think that Gill does a great job of making the story feel fresh and not the same ol, same ol (I mentioned this in my other review of “Negative Zero” as well) Have to say that I was surprised with the ending, but not happy how it is a cliffhanger, only because the next one isn’t out yet and I hate waiting!!! Recommend for fans of YA fantasy and paranormal romance. (4-5 stars) - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

3.   Ireland Gill continues the romantic and imaginative journey of ‘soldier of light” Evika Stormer in “Absolute Zero”, the second book in the Negative Zero Series . The beginning starts after book one left off and fills us in on the basic premise and the character’s history/setup. You do need to read the other book first, in my opinion. The way the story unfolds and how everything is connected pulls you in and takes you into Evika’s life with Hayden and involved in their drama as well.. I have to say I really like the author’s writing style a lot, really fresh and spunky, funny with great authentic personalities. Like how people (teens/young adults) really talk in real life. I really felt like I was there in Evika’s head (for better or worse) but we also feel the bigger picture as well. I like that in addition to being romantic and fun to read, it never gets sappy or weighed down in melodrama. Not a fan of the ending either (ends right in the middle of a big shocking reveal), but there is a level of believability in this book that makes it a very rewarding experience. I’m happy to have discovered this author and will recommend this series to fans of Y/A paranormal romance. Hopefully the next book is published quickly! (4 stars) - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

4.   I always worry after reading the first book in a series and loving it that the second one will disappoint me somehow (the sophomore slump), but that certainly wasn’t the case here at all! I appreciate how after the enticing first book (Negative Zero), Ireland Gill continues to come up with new and imaginative twists for these characters and we watch them change and grow and develop as they overcome romantic and personal challenges. Great pacing throughout, even when it does slow down a bit it is to grant the reader deeper insight into the heart of the story.  So many complex interweaving plotlines keep you interested, and I was impressed that Gill didn’t just take the ‘easy way out’ and instead came up with new and inventive twists to keep us on our toes. A really well-written, romantic and creative book that also touches your heart. It will make your jaw drop at the end and wish you had the next book already!! (4 stars) - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

5.   “Absolute Zero” is the second novel I’ve read by Ireland Gill, and like her first one (“Negative Zero”), I thought it to be very good—excellent writing and a compelling, unpredictable plot set against an intriguing and imaginative paranormal background. I like how it continues on with Evika’s story, but feels fresh with a unique circumstances and new characters. But fortunately we still have Hayden, and I love their chemistry! Great characterizations as before, and Gill does a great job of filling us in as we go without getting bogged down in describing every last thing. The story moves forward and you can't help but get sucked into Gill’s strong narrative that is descriptive and fast paced. And I haven't even begun to talk about the characters, which were authentic and show the story nicely with their authentic dialogue. Evika and Hayden are the type of characters we like to root for, and I enjoyed watching their relationship develop over the course of the action. Some similar themes and motifs found in typical paranormal romance, different from many others I’ve read, but comfortingly familiar. Lots of surprises, especially toward the end and the way the story leaves off we are hoping that book 3 will be available soon! The story does not end here… you have been warned. (4 stars) - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

6.   I am really becoming a fan of Ireland Gill’s books. This is the second one I’ve read from her – the first being “Negative Zero”. This one, “Absolute Zero” is the next chapter in the saga and should only be read after the first one (this in not a standalone novel). Like the first one,  there are lots of great conversations, engaging  narrative and plenty of twists (which while a tad  detectable at times are still entertaining), lots of hot, romantic chemistry between Evika and Hayden, several other interesting characters with their own drama (love Luka as well), all of which is tied together with fast paced quality writing with deeper messages throughout. I thought the dialogue to be nicely crafted (something I am very picky about) and was happy with how it all wrapped up……although I wish there were more of a conclusion rather than such a cliffhanger. Recommend. (4-5 stars) - Goodreads; Shelfari; Barnes & Noble; Indie Book Reviewers

  • Facebook Classic
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • bookbub2

© 2014 Ireland Gill- Proudly created with Wix.com